Nicki & Cassie team up for “The Boys”

Nicki Minaj and Cassie have teamed up for their single entitled ” The Boys”.  The video is very whimsical and dreamy. It incorporates lots of pink, baby blue , turquoise and yellow. There are children eating over sized cotton candy and pink chocolate fondue fountains. Now we all know this is Nicki Minaj at her best however it seems to me that they took more time thinking about what effect would make the sky pink than they did thinking about the concept and arrangement of the song. Sadly I believe that the song lacks consistency and quality. After watching the video I had to ask myself “what are they talking about” and after watching it again I realized that the song is very unorganized and simply confusing in my opinion. With lyrics like “You mad dusty, You a lil’ dusty possum, I come through with the six like my name was Blossom,” I just didn’t know what the song was about. Nicki has done this before however I was a little disappointed that Cassie put her name on it. I honestly think that Cassie is just lost and is desperate to stay relevant in the music scene, she hopped on this record. We all know Cassie is not a singer however she is BEYOND GORGEOUS so maybe that’s why Nicki worked with her. Who knows. Never the less I strongly believe Cassie can have a more blossoming career on the runway versus forcing herself to gain respect by making music because lets face it , its most likely NOT going to happen. Cassie hasn’t had a REALLY successful hit since “Official Girl” and that’s back when people believed Weezy might be the best rapper so you know that was awhile back. Below is the video watch it and then fill out the poll so Candy Coated Crush can know what you think about this Candy Land Carol.

Leave a comment